Green and didn’t know it


Beaumont has the battery-powered mower on silent on a sunny morning.

I’m the last person you’d expect to be green.

My profession revolves around the mass-killing of trees. And until a few years ago, I didn’t recycle. Having grown up in rural Oklahoma, I burned trash in a barrel in my backyard. Before my eco-friendly wife made me more urban, I thought recycle bins made great storage totes.

So, imagine my surprise when my neighbor came out from his house recently to thank me for mowing my yard with a battery-powered mower and using an electric edger.

“Wow, you guys are really green,” he said.

“Yeah, I guess,” I said.

Actually, the edger was my protest to the loud gas-powered edgers that the neighbors break out on Saturday mornings when I’m trying to snooze.

The mower was a great deal on Woot. My son was approaching that age most dads love — landscaping age. With the mower like a gadget now, the boy has taken to it. I like it because it hums and doesn’t drown out music from my iPhone.

(Full disclosure: Because of the economy I’ve had to let the domestic staff go, so that’s why I was mowing my own yard).

My neighbor says the next thing you know I’ll be driving a hybrid.

Hmmm. That’s a possibility because most of them are Bluetooth-enabled, and I could plug in my iPhone.

Being green ain’t so bad.

Leave a Reply

